

Herbert R. Fischer, Ph.D., Superintendent

## San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Contact: Christine McGrew, Dan Evans 0708-058

Phone: (909) 386-2413 Date: February 20, 2008

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## County Students Chosen For Governor's Academic Recognition Program

SAN BERNARDINO – Seven high school senior students from San Bernardino County have been selected to take part in the first Governor's Academic Recognition Program, County Superintendent Herbert Fischer announced today.

The seven students are among 177 chosen statewide to compete for 25 all-state academic team spots. The group of 177 students will be honored on March 11 at an awards dinner with Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger and First Lady Maria Shriver, where the all-state academic choices will be announced.

"These students represent the academic firepower of our county," Fischer said. "We are extremely pleased that these outstanding students will be recognized statewide."

The seven San Bernardino County students were chosen from 39 nominees, who represented 36 comprehensive high schools, one charter school and two continuation high schools countywide.

The seven county high school seniors selected to represent San Bernardino County are: Chris Cho of Los Osos High School in the Chaffey Joint Unified High School District; Derrik Holland-Carlson of Redlands East Valley High School in the Redlands Unified School District;

Amber Parle of Big Bear High School in the Bear Valley Unified School District;

More ...

## **ACADEMIC RECOGNITION 2-2-2-2**

Jasmine Petro of Middle College High School in the San Bernardino City Unified School District;

Patriya Pilouk of Redlands High School in the Redlands Unified School District; Linda Ta of Eisenhower High School in the Rialto Unified School District; Bethany Tomerlin of Serrano High School in the Snowline Joint Unified School District.

For the countywide selection, high schools were asked to submit seniors from the top 1 percent of their graduating classes for consideration from a panel who reviewed the submissions. Selections were based on scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, extracurricular activities

and service to the community. The number of statewide nominees were determined by the secretary of education's office and based on student enrollment by county.